top of page


The Story So Far...

The Mothboxer story began back in 2006 after the demise of the UK band Kid Galahad (AKA The Furze) who enjoyed cult status in the early Noughties touring with Electric Soft Parade, Cosmic Rough Riders and Supergrass as well as acheiving NME Single of The Week and the same accolade from Mark Radcliffe on BBC Radio 1. After 3 EP'S and the LP's Gold Dust Noise, Skeleton and Subterranean Kicks, the band called a permanent hiatus.

Guitarist Dave Ody began work on his debut solo album GEEN during the dissolution of the band and the album was released in 2007 on LineOut Records. The album picked up decent airplay and high critical praise laying the foundations for the official Mothboxer debut album in 2010. Filling out the band duties at various stages were Phil Davies, Jon Hawes, Robbie Burley and Patrick Martyn.

Described as a cross between XTC, Beatles and all points of classic Power Pop in between, Mothboxer released several acclaimed records between 2010 and 2014, picking up such accolades as "This generation's XTC" - David Bash, Founder of IPO Festival.


Live appearances are extremely rare, Mothboxer is very much a studio outlet and have only appeared live a handful of times and for now, Mothboxer is a permanent studio based project...

The Secret Art Of Saying Nothing followed in 2017 picking up stellar reviews and healthy sales as well as heavy rotation on many indie and power pop blogs and playlists worldwide.

"Open Sky" was released on all digital formats and limited edition CD from the official website on December 14th 2018

2019 saw the release of the highly anticipated Time Capsule Volume 1. A collection of re-recordings/re-workings of 10 songs written during the period of 1995 - 2003. The album was released on June 7th 2019.

On March 27th 2020, the ninth full length album under the Mothboxer name was released. Entitled Accelerator and containing 12 songs with a heavier guitar presence than previous releases, but with more hooks than a fishing tackle warehouse!

Dave also puts on the producer hat, producing Finchey's third album entitled Offline, Off Radar which was released in 2021 and he's also co produced Patrick Martyn's incredible debut album, From Moment to Moment.

Mothboxer released the guitar driven On the Flipside in 2022 which gained good rotation and great reviews. The next album, Breathe came out in February 2023 to rave reviews and is currently Mothboxer's biggest seller to date.

Timelines (the follow up album) has been announced and will be released on February 2nd 2024


bottom of page